Reviews

See what others are saying about us. If you recently dined with us, please consider sharing your experience.

If you have any concerns or suggestions, please contact us here or call us at 757-689-5395.

Andrea Leonard
Andrea Leonard
22:18 28 Sep 17
Wonderful food and atmosphere. Everyone that works there are friendly and smiling. Will definitely eat here again!
Rose Miller
Rose Miller
23:40 27 Sep 17
Food and service was awesome! Everyone was friendly and the meals were all very yummy. Plan to go back every time we are in town.
Tommy Townsend
Tommy Townsend
00:20 23 Sep 17
Best oysters that I've ever eaten. Great service reasonably price. Wife had fresh catch of the day it was delicious. Desert was fine. See why it is one of the area's best
Jay Wolcott
Jay Wolcott
17:20 15 Aug 17
Great little restaurant. The food is excellent. Would be nicer in a larger establishment. I'm not a fan that it still looks like a bar, but it doesn't prevent me from enjoying the food and staff.
Emilee Harker
Emilee Harker
01:12 01 Jul 17
Fantastic experience! Couldn't have been better! They treated us like family from the moment we walked in. We had kids with us and they went out of their way to make sure they had a great experience too! Fantastic food, excellent service! We will be back!!!!
See All Reviews

Reviews may take a few moments to appear from TripAdvisor

5.0
Based on 356 Reviews
Steve G.
Steve G.
2018-01-27 16:11:20
We were at the door at 4 pm and we're very glad to be early. Place was filled up by 5 on a Saturday night with a line out the door! Went for combo plate of...
Mark E.
Mark E.
2017-11-12 14:29:12
Our first visit. Spot on service and cuisine.This is an independent restaurant serving up some very tasty dishes. And it must be a known favorite...
Creagan B.
Creagan B.
2017-09-30 05:34:09
All I can say is WOW!!This is by far the best seafood restaurant in VB!Whether it's oyster rock or the nightly specials they offer. Everything is amazing...
Maria G.
Maria G.
2017-09-29 19:06:35
After dining here many times, I can truly say this is a top notch restaurant. The atmosphere is really chilled and I love the bar's light pendant. Speaking...
Julia B.
Julia B.
2017-09-27 12:36:10
We had an amazing dinner here!! We went to Blue Seafood and Spirits and had excellent service and food to match!! Our server was fantastic and very...
Blue Seafood and Spirits
4.9
powered by Facebook
Jeff Dorsogna
Jeff Dorsogna
2018-04-15T23:06:48+0000
This is the best seafood in the freshest seafood I’ve had in a long time. Very personable customer service issues the owner has a great thing going and I will not have seafood anywhere else
Stuart Brightbill
Stuart Brightbill
2018-04-14T23:36:14+0000
The food for all three of us was excellent!! Waitress was very knowledgeable, courteous and professional. All three meals were cooked perfectly and served on time. The only thing keeping from a 5-star rating is the atmosphere. Incredibly small dining area and we happened to be seated close to the bar. The people gathered behind us were loud (having fun), I kept having to hunch over as patrons and workers had to get by. I hope this restaurant can find a bigger place.
Mark Anthony
Mark Anthony
2018-04-12T00:09:37+0000
Great service great food what more can you ask for
Stephanie Mackey
Stephanie Mackey
2018-04-08T13:47:06+0000
Wonderful birthday dinner at our favorite restaurant! Thank you, Blue!
Kenneth L Williams
Kenneth L Williams
2018-04-07T23:44:25+0000
James Darden
James Darden
2018-04-07T20:32:03+0000
Great place! Our second time & we Love it, sooo fresh.
Meredith Dhillon
Meredith Dhillon
2018-03-17T14:50:23+0000
Me and my husband love seafood! We wanted to find a legit restaurant outside of the tourist traps. Blue is fantastic! The food was fresh and seasoned to perfection. Unique items like the apricot butter will keep me coming back. The service was exceptional and the staff was friendly! The beer and wine selection mafe us super happy!
Sandy Ricardo
Sandy Ricardo
2018-03-15T10:26:23+0000
John Ross
John Ross
2018-03-08T23:05:20+0000
Just had another great meal at Blue.Once again everything was wonderful!�����
Mendy Semonich
Mendy Semonich
2018-02-28T22:48:05+0000
The owner and staff were very nice. It’s a great atmosphere and very clean. The food is awesome! Love this place, I will go back often!
Pam Ooten-Stuart
Pam Ooten-Stuart
2018-02-25T01:36:18+0000
Excellent service, delicious food and wonderful atmosphere. Highly recommend!
Cindy Meigel
Cindy Meigel
2018-02-24T00:49:31+0000
We tried this restaurant...thanks to Suri. When we walked in, I asked the couple on front of us “have you been here before?” She replied “no we saw it had 5 star reviews, so we thought we would try it.” How about that! LOL. My father said the “raw oysters and the she crab soup were the BEST” he ever had! He’s long been a Seafood connoisseur. Sorrily I’m not a fan of seafood, however the salad dressing was the best I ever had! It was a house made italian-garlic-balsamic, and the salad was full of fixings. They also have complimentary sweet potato biscuits with apricot butter, that are to absolutely die for! I ordered the porterhouse pork chop, with cheesy mashed potatoes and vegetables. The cheesy mashed potatoes were a culinary delight, for sure! My father got the broiled seafood plate that consisted of scallops, a large crab cake, and a white fish. In his words “they are generous with the crab in the crab cake, and in the She crab soup.” His dinner was served with a white sweet potato and vegetables. For desert we both opted for the cream brûlée - which was absolutely to die for. I have had cream brûlée twice before and really did not care for it, but since we were trying this place for the first time, I decided to try it. It was masterful!!! They have a chocolate bread pudding, that the owner highly recommended, however, I gave up chocolate for Lent. I liked that the owner brought out complimentary appetizers, and talked freely with the customers. Our only complaint would be, it’s too small...but the owner stated “we thought about expanding, but we don’t want to lose...what we have here.” We got there when it opened at 4. By the time we left, the waiting area was full, and people were waiting in line outside...in the rain. The bar area is a delight, and and the bartender was superb! Highly recommend 5�����. I will be trying the chocolate bread pudding after lent ends. What an absolute pleasure!
Margaret Nowaczyk Gaertner
Margaret Nowaczyk Gaertner
2018-02-21T23:09:30+0000
This was our first visit to Blue, but most certainly won’t be our last. The food and service were excellent, with a visit from the Chef who offered us a complimentary crab appetizer. The sweet potatoe biscuits are the best we have ever eaten. Can’t wait to go back.
Marcia Melquist
Marcia Melquist
2018-02-19T01:14:44+0000
Kristie McLamb
Kristie McLamb
2018-02-18T00:07:39+0000
Wonderful and friendly service....Appetizers which included tempura asparagus and a bowl of crab soup and both was out of this world...had the salmon Oscar and fried seafood plate and both were amazing....would recommend to anybody and can’t wait to come back again
Lauren Merlino Shoemaker
Lauren Merlino Shoemaker
2018-02-17T12:26:30+0000
Came here on a recommendation n was not disappointed. We sat at the bar n Matt took care of us!! Started out with the calamari app. I then had the crab cakes, my husband had some seafood dish n said it was great!! The chef brought out our food (which I thought was very nice) I had never heard of a white sweet potato before, but let me tell you, it was delish!! We ended with creme brûlée. Matt was very entertaining n personable. We def enjoyed our night. Thank you! I almost forgot about the sweet potato biscuits, with the apricot butter—-OMG
Jose Gautier
Jose Gautier
2018-02-16T09:59:43+0000
Elaina Marie Rogers
Elaina Marie Rogers
2018-02-16T00:47:30+0000
Shelly Sowers
Shelly Sowers
2018-02-15T16:23:08+0000
Tonya Hignite Rakowski
Tonya Hignite Rakowski
2018-02-09T18:21:22+0000
LaShon Williams
LaShon Williams
2018-02-04T11:20:33+0000
Matthew Smithson
Matthew Smithson
2018-02-02T18:24:37+0000
This is my favorite restaurant in Virginia Beach hands down. The fresh delicious food, friendly service, and speciality🍸cocktails are always AMAZING. And unlike many restaurants, the owners of BLUE 🐟 come out to greet you 👏. The atmosphere here makes for a truly unique and enjoyable dining experience.
Maggie Infinger
Maggie Infinger
2018-01-28T17:59:51+0000
Amazing food, best service I have had in awhile. My new favorite restaurant. Even with a long wait I would do it again!!
Don Podach
Don Podach
2018-01-28T01:56:14+0000
Brady Behrman
Brady Behrman
2018-01-27T23:25:52+0000
Wow! Amazing food, incredibly tasteful. You got to get here!
Michelle Thorbin Marshall
Michelle Thorbin Marshall
2018-01-27T02:51:39+0000
Jimi Casper
Jimi Casper
2018-01-25T03:46:38+0000
We've eaten here 2 dozen times and every time it was an amazing experience. Chef Charles and crew do an absolute stellar job at making you feel like family and having the ultimate dining experience. I would not change anything about this place. Love it 6 stars!!!
Anna Cleveland
Anna Cleveland
2018-01-21T01:04:45+0000
Great staff and amazing food! Well worth any wait you may have. I can't wait to go back. There are many menu items I want to try.
Scott Bowyer
Scott Bowyer
2018-01-20T01:20:21+0000
Tonight’s special was a yellowfin tuna with a honey Dijon drizzle, along with Asiago mashed potatoes and julienned vegetables. It was cooked to perfection! Received great service with a smile, and enjoyed seeing chef out talking to everyone. Highly recommend!!!
Adriane McKoy
Adriane McKoy
2017-12-21T02:31:27+0000
Delicious fresh seafood, nice atmosphere and great staff!
Cindy Kepley McCall
Cindy Kepley McCall
2017-12-17T18:29:44+0000
Jodie Cartwright Brinn
Jodie Cartwright Brinn
2017-11-25T23:57:33+0000
Great Food, Great Service!! One of my favorites in Virginia Beach!!!
Adam Carroll
Adam Carroll
2017-11-18T23:24:42+0000
Charles, you’ve ruined me for duck...I use to order it everywhere, but nothing is as good as yours. Filet tonight....
Lauren Broudy
Lauren Broudy
2017-11-09T03:11:22+0000
My food was definitely 5 stars. I couldn't pick just one so I chose the combo and got flounder, crab cakes and shrimp. I would get it again and again. I loved how they offer complimentary appetizers. They were the perfect bite!!
Tish Woodlin Norfleet
Tish Woodlin Norfleet
2017-11-06T02:11:05+0000
The food, service and atmosphere was on point. I will be back.
Lynn Lester
Lynn Lester
2017-11-06T00:47:26+0000
So glad that we found this locally-owned restaurant. Food and service were both excellent, and really liked that the Chef was in and out of the dining room chatting it up with customers. He obviously has a large local following, and as a restaurant owner in Delaware, I love to find and support locally-owned businesses. Those in the Virginia Beach area need to put this great spot on their radar!!!
Frank Jacobs
Frank Jacobs
2017-11-04T09:42:29+0000
Cyndi Arnold
Cyndi Arnold
2017-10-28T15:31:39+0000
Fabulous!I absolutely love BLUE! Went to dinner last night solo and love this restaurant! I ate at the bar and enjoyed their awesome crab cakes and tempura shrimp which were amazing. I met so many wonderful locals there. The food was absolutely delicious, the atmosphere was inviting and the service was excellent. From the appetizers, to the main course and even the desserts and cocktails were perfect. This is a must place to discover a fabulous neighborhood favorite.
L.D. McGee III
L.D. McGee III
2017-10-23T01:05:42+0000
Christopher Hutchison
Christopher Hutchison
2017-10-22T23:37:08+0000
Great food and our server was on point. Tried this restaurant based on reviews on TripAdvisor and they did not disappoint. Tonya our server new the menu and how to handle Gluten free allergy needs. We will be back
Naturelle Native
Naturelle Native
2017-10-22T00:27:45+0000
The Sweet Potato Biscuits w/Apricot Butter are really Tasty!!! My server Katie was polite & attentive to anything that was needed at the dinner table. Excellent Service!
Eric Christopher Johnson
Eric Christopher Johnson
2017-10-21T23:43:54+0000
Amy Jo Crutsinger
Amy Jo Crutsinger
2017-10-21T01:29:26+0000
Jennipher Yandle
Jennipher Yandle
2017-10-17T15:03:12+0000
You guys are,by far, one of my favorites places to go to dinner when we’re kid free(it’s a treat when it’s just the two of us) Your scallops are like PADS OF BUTTER!The best I’ve had - every time! � and the staff is amazing!!
Cammie Tutwiler
Cammie Tutwiler
2017-10-15T23:48:28+0000
Wonderful food, and excellent, friendly service. What a great place!! Would definitely visit again.
Lynn Vogel
Lynn Vogel
2017-10-15T00:20:31+0000
The reviews are all legit! We drove out there from the oceanfront based on Yelp. We got there at 5 on a Saturday and it was already packed. We took a seat at the bar and had great service from Reed and Shannon. My hubby and I took advantage of happy hour specials and had a breadth of apps. Don't miss the crab cakes, the tempura shrimp or the crab soup. We loved it so much we bought extra to go! Literally the best seafood I've ever had. I wish we lived closer!
Tom A Thomas
Tom A Thomas
2017-10-11T22:28:53+0000
The Best of the Best hands down! Great bar area and Happy Hour as well
Loretta Kemper
Loretta Kemper
2017-10-07T22:41:10+0000
Great place, from the service to the food (chef)to the managers everything was wonderful. Loved that it was family friendly as we brought a baby with us.
Steven Jent
Steven Jent
2017-10-07T22:19:02+0000
Kelly Vasiloff
Kelly Vasiloff
2017-10-01T23:18:15+0000
This place is phenomenal!!! The service, the owner, the upscale, yet relaxed atmosphere...perfect meal from start to finish!!
Kendyl Horrie
Kendyl Horrie
2017-09-26T14:49:16+0000
If you want seafood, this is the place to go. One of our favorites!
Michael Patrick Daugherty
Michael Patrick Daugherty
2017-09-25T14:28:02+0000
Local gresh seafood prepared by Chef Charles with simple and fresh way but with a definite expert touch on seasoning. The tempura battered shrimp is ligbt and delicate with extrememly fresh jumbo shrimp. The asiago mash was smooth as silk and had a creamy, yet, bright asiago flavor. The roasted tomato she-crab soup had a unique spin on the soup and gave it a crab red hue. Even the croutons on the salad were kitchen crafted. Attention to detail is evident everywhere, even in the cocktails. Fresh, muddled fruit and mint in both the Pinapple Mohito and the old-fashioned. Go for the local feel, Chef Charle's warmth and hospitality, as well as his excellent cuisine. Come back because it feels like "your place". Don't come back on Sun or Mon...because that is their weekend, resting up to see you once again.
Kim Turner
Kim Turner
2017-09-23T23:58:35+0000
This place absolutely fantastic! I had try some of everything. Shrimp Tempura, oysters, crab cake., Mahi Mahi and Scallops. This is the best seafood I ever had in the Tidewater area!! The bartender Matt is super nice and make the bests cocktails!! The owner come around to make sure everything is great! I giving this place 5-stars hand down!
Liz Jenkins Bullock
Liz Jenkins Bullock
2017-09-23T01:44:44+0000
The service was excellent. Sweet potato biscuits with apricot butter melted in your mouth. Broiled seafood was cooked to perfection. Fried oysters just had enough tasty crunch to compliment the crab cake that came along with the ride. Didn't even mind the wait. My new favorite place to eat!!!
Melissa Waddell
Melissa Waddell
2017-09-16T21:02:35+0000
Truly one of the best meals that I have ever had. The seafood was divine. The veggies were fresh and crisp.The Chief was amazing. Bartender Matt, was fun and knew how to make a drink!
Douglas Foley
Douglas Foley
2017-09-06T21:44:22+0000
Erick Teger
Erick Teger
2017-09-06T20:45:05+0000
Mariliz Vega-Anderson
Mariliz Vega-Anderson
2017-09-03T00:15:38+0000
Ralph Clayton Anderson III
Ralph Clayton Anderson III
2017-09-01T01:30:24+0000
Melanie Cara Mccoy
Melanie Cara Mccoy
2017-08-27T01:56:57+0000
Davina Celeste Byrd
Davina Celeste Byrd
2017-08-27T01:47:45+0000
Andy Chianese
Andy Chianese
2017-08-26T22:14:36+0000
Deborah Carpinteri
Deborah Carpinteri
2017-08-24T22:50:17+0000
Great service and food. Will go back with friends.
Linda Smith
Linda Smith
2017-08-21T00:24:46+0000
I had my Birthday dinner at Blue. Excellent seafood menu. I had the seafood platter , the crab cakes were delicious, all crab no filler, nice light batter on any items that were fried. Had a great time, great food, busy place , get there early. 😊🍴
Joan Lerman
Joan Lerman
2017-08-20T01:15:56+0000
Had our Anniversary dinner here. Both food and service were excellent.
Rebecca Lear
Rebecca Lear
2017-08-19T23:39:45+0000
Kate Karangelen Kalish
Kate Karangelen Kalish
2017-08-18T01:54:26+0000
Sean Russell
Sean Russell
2017-08-17T22:33:53+0000
One of the most amazing dining experiences I have ever enjoyed!
Colleen Hinson
Colleen Hinson
2017-08-15T22:49:13+0000
LuAnn Molinaro Ford
LuAnn Molinaro Ford
2017-08-14T12:34:34+0000
Kim Burrell Ross
Kim Burrell Ross
2017-08-13T23:02:40+0000
My fiancee and a group of our friends dined here to celebrate my birthday. The place is small and intimate, and the food was AMAZING! The chef/owner was friendly and engaging with all the guest. We will definitely be returning!
Robert Stoufer
Robert Stoufer
2017-08-13T11:49:23+0000
Great food and super attentive staff--including the chef/owner. We had blackened tuna, halibut, and scallop specials and all three were fantastic! Our server, Jordan, was great. Will definitely be back.
Bonnie Watts
Bonnie Watts
2017-08-13T01:54:45+0000
Amazing food!! Great service. Will definitely be revisiting next time we are in the area.
Scott-Carolyn Adkins
Scott-Carolyn Adkins
2017-08-06T23:05:28+0000
Marcus William White Jr
Marcus William White Jr
2017-08-01T09:54:48+0000
Like everyone else is saying here... excellent! Food, service, hospitality all great. Can't wait to see where he ( should / will ) move to for a larger venue.
Geraldine Edgarian
Geraldine Edgarian
2017-07-29T21:03:26+0000
Michelle A. Wheat
Michelle A. Wheat
2017-07-29T02:02:03+0000
We drove over from Richmond for my Birthday. It was worth the drive and the wait for a table. The hostesses were welcoming and informative about the menu and specials. Food was fresh and delicious! Everything was great from beginning to end! We will definitely be making the trip back as soon as we can. �
Rob Buhrman
Rob Buhrman
2017-07-28T22:08:30+0000
Pam Livingston
Pam Livingston
2017-07-27T21:15:52+0000
Dorothy McMillion
Dorothy McMillion
2017-07-26T12:25:23+0000
Food is delicious, crab chowder is best l have eaten. Staff so nice.It's a small place so expect to wait but worth the wait.
Donny Jordan
Donny Jordan
2017-07-26T00:16:03+0000
Excellent foodA little pricey and small portions. Excellent service. Not very crowded.
Lena Kessinger
Lena Kessinger
2017-07-25T00:24:08+0000
Jenna Poisson Lamoureux
Jenna Poisson Lamoureux
2017-07-24T01:08:50+0000
Heidi Beilhart Edwards
Heidi Beilhart Edwards
2017-07-24T00:20:04+0000
Susan Klepser
Susan Klepser
2017-07-20T01:32:20+0000
Amazing atmosphere, staff was attentive and the food was delicious.
Steve Mizerak
Steve Mizerak
2017-07-19T22:12:07+0000
Fantastic. Chef was very available as well making sure everyone was satisfied. Fried oysters we're amazing...worth the trip
Ryan Branham
Ryan Branham
2017-07-19T16:38:06+0000
I was first turned onto this gem in March by a friend's recommendation. It unfortunately took until July for my schedule to permit me and my father to experience a lovely and high quality meal. Prior to our phenomenal crab soup, the chef brought out tastings of shrimp ceviche. The flavor was out of this world! I would order the ceviche if it were a part of the reguar menu. The Seafood Belle Haven and the Salmon Oscar were top notch. I'm not quite sure how, but we managed to share a creme brulee, that was topped with blueberries, to finish the evening. The quality of food and service could not have been better. I look forward to dining again and exploring more of the menu.
Megan Reilly
Megan Reilly
2017-07-15T01:30:22+0000
Doug Clay
Doug Clay
2017-07-14T23:48:43+0000
Charles Thain is one of my favorite people. Im just going to see if he remembers who I am
Cristonna Lisby
Cristonna Lisby
2017-07-14T02:33:46+0000
The chef and wife was very nice. Food was delicious and bartender eas excellent..
Lisa Williams Rawles
Lisa Williams Rawles
2017-07-10T00:21:47+0000
Awesome food. Awesome service. Small place so hard to get in. Worth the wait!!
Becky Stearns Cyr
Becky Stearns Cyr
2017-07-09T01:42:23+0000
Melanie Cohen Brown
Melanie Cohen Brown
2017-07-06T23:06:29+0000
Awesome fresh everything � We sat at the bar and Reid took care of us ......Tasty and fresh!
Trisha Fuchs
Trisha Fuchs
2017-06-28T16:01:28+0000
Fantastic restaurant look forward to returning soon.
Emily Wilson Starks
Emily Wilson Starks
2017-06-23T00:28:57+0000
This place is absolutely phenomenal. The chef is interested in the experience of every guest and the food is absolute heaven. The wonderful staff and the enjoyable atmosphere make this place a MUST for anyone visiting Virginia Beach.
Marinda Reames
Marinda Reames
2017-06-20T22:09:49+0000
Wonderful food and the staff members are all very friendly and helpful!
Johnny Fazio
Johnny Fazio
2017-06-18T00:04:36+0000
amazing, delicious menu and friendly & attentive staff... world class on all levels! a MUST visit for the serious food lovers
Lauren Balogh
Lauren Balogh
2017-06-11T01:20:46+0000
By far one of the best restaurants in va beach! Food was incredible and service was phenomenal! My new favorite!
Denielle VT Rigoglioso
Denielle VT Rigoglioso
2017-06-11T01:14:33+0000
Amazing food and amazing service!!! Everything we had was fantastic!!!! Us locals are hard to please...we left impressed!
Donald Roberts
Donald Roberts
2017-06-11T00:52:03+0000
Jonathan Grayson Creger
Jonathan Grayson Creger
2017-06-10T23:48:34+0000
Great food, great people, and great service! Loved it!
Brittany Norr
Brittany Norr
2017-06-05T15:36:00+0000
I have been here a few times and it is one of our favorite restaurants in Virginia Beach! The service is top notch and the food is amazing!
Jill Beninato
Jill Beninato
2017-06-03T22:27:50+0000
Linda Gualeni Ludwig
Linda Gualeni Ludwig
2017-05-27T10:17:48+0000
Robin Raymond Randolph
Robin Raymond Randolph
2017-05-27T00:04:31+0000
Amazing people food and atmosphere !! Always a super yum at BLUE. We will def be back👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
Chris Coleman
Chris Coleman
2017-05-25T00:35:01+0000
Absolutely amazing dinner. Awesome atmosphere with a super nice and knowledgeable staff.
Dassa Carvey
Dassa Carvey
2017-05-22T00:24:26+0000
Received a complimentary tasting of shrimp and pine nuts. Delicious! Crab cakes had no filler! Fresh vegetables: corn, asparagus, and cherry tomatoes...so good! A taste of crab soup was delicious! Calamari was the best! Has become our favorite go-to seafood place!
Gennifer Cairns
Gennifer Cairns
2017-05-20T23:00:58+0000
We didn't even know this place was here. Word of mouth finally made it to us. We tried it with my parents, and we all loved it. Service and food, everything was outstanding.
Morgan Mirabile Wolfer
Morgan Mirabile Wolfer
2017-05-19T14:50:12+0000
Excellent food, great happy hour specials, bartender is on top of it and owner/chef is very friendly! Great place!
Jackie Romano
Jackie Romano
2017-05-15T00:12:38+0000
Bartender was exceptional, the food was fantastic. Service was amazing, had a great time!!
Marie James
Marie James
2017-05-14T23:29:54+0000
Awesome food and great service! Small place with a big impact.
Kim Grim
Kim Grim
2017-05-12T23:20:04+0000
Never disappoints, always outstanding. Very comfortable and great food.
Kay Williams Harris
Kay Williams Harris
2017-05-10T00:25:47+0000
Just left our favorite restaurant and softshells are in and I have NEVER had any better anywhere ever!!!It was like falling in love!! Great meal as always but it made our 30th anniversary most special and memorable �
Sarah Marie Serge Fielding
Sarah Marie Serge Fielding
2017-04-26T19:28:32+0000
Natchez Richburg
Natchez Richburg
2017-04-23T01:32:43+0000
I can't think of a better seafood option within 100 miles of Blue Seafood and Spirits
Thaïs Sebastia
Thaïs Sebastia
2017-04-23T01:26:28+0000
Sean Kalani Bailey
Sean Kalani Bailey
2017-04-17T14:58:47+0000
Staff was very accommodating; even though we took up half the restraunt. The food was great, atmosphere was great. Chef came out to great us.The food is expensive, but you get what you pay for.
Jeff Leonard
Jeff Leonard
2017-04-11T19:56:23+0000
I guess I'm a winner? #ivotedblue #theclawsealedit
Maria Daphnie
Maria Daphnie
2017-04-09T00:39:31+0000
Phyllis Cooper
Phyllis Cooper
2017-04-08T01:39:22+0000
Will E Joe
Will E Joe
2017-03-27T16:54:51+0000
Sabrina Williams
Sabrina Williams
2017-03-27T16:22:02+0000
Fred Burt
Fred Burt
2017-03-23T22:13:24+0000
Peter Maniatis
Peter Maniatis
2017-03-18T22:21:47+0000
All of the food was amazing and the staff was great
Ashley M. Gómez
Ashley M. Gómez
2017-03-17T23:22:31+0000
We loved our meals! I had the tempura shrimp with the white sweet potato, and it was superb! The calamari was delicious as well! Great food! If I'm ever in VA Beach again, I will be back!
Douglas Nichols
Douglas Nichols
2017-03-12T22:58:04+0000
The dining is consistently top notch and the service cannot be any friendlier. The chef and owner exemplifies outstanding hospitality by greeting guests at the door with his always happy demeanor. We love going here. With every visit our dining has been more than just a meal, it is always an enjoyable experience worthy of many returns. I highly recommend this place to one and all.
Denise Frey
Denise Frey
2017-03-12T02:13:15+0000
This restaurant never disappoints!! Always worth the wait; just wish they took reservations. The rockfish tonight was out of this world. Same with raw oysters, calimari and the acclaimed chocolate bread pudding. OMG!
David C. Hall
David C. Hall
2017-03-11T14:06:27+0000
Michaela Glovier
Michaela Glovier
2017-03-11T03:47:35+0000
By far the best restaurant in Virginia Beach!!!!!
Korey Jones
Korey Jones
2017-03-10T00:55:22+0000
Visited for the first time on my birthday, and it will definitely not be my trip there! The food was top-notch, truly second to none. The service was wonderful as she was very attentive and helpful. Highly recommended for any seafood lover. This place is awesome!
Dean Stacy
Dean Stacy
2017-03-07T21:55:46+0000
best seafood in Va Beach great job Charles as usual outstanding
Isabel Werner-Jimenez
Isabel Werner-Jimenez
2017-03-07T03:22:37+0000
Delicious food, excellent service. What else can you ask for?
Lauren Smith
Lauren Smith
2017-03-02T18:52:52+0000
How in the world did I not know about this gem until recently? I saw some friends posting about it and remembered enough of the name (Blue something) to investigate and make out for a Wednesday date night. The space is small, but comfortable. The food was AMAZING! Our server (Jen) was fantastic and I applauded her flawless execution of the 'tomato and kalamata olive cream sauce' special description (say that five times fast). The chef/owner (Charles) was friendly and talkative, making sure to visit each table at least once if not multiple times. Word is the place is packed during the summer months, so if you want to try it GO NOW! We can't wait to go back and truly hope Charles and Jen take our suggestion of adding a few more raspberries to the chocolate bread pudding. Thank you for a great experience! We can't wait to go back!
Chris Henry
Chris Henry
2017-03-02T00:45:52+0000
went to Blue for dinner with the wife,service was good and server was knowledgable.appetizer was very good and dinner was also,we each had a cucumber martini which were excellent.downside was i little pricey but worth it
Anne Powell
Anne Powell
2017-03-01T01:08:15+0000
Pure deliciousness!! The seafood bellhaven, eastern shore, and sweet potato biscuits with apricot butter...all amazing!!
Kenneth Magee
Kenneth Magee
2017-02-27T00:58:19+0000
The crab cakes ALL crab! No fillers I'll start with that�. I really enjoyed the atmosphere with friends and my wife. Will definitely be back!
Hadi El
Hadi El
2017-02-24T01:16:22+0000
Didn't like the salmon dish with the crab meat. The hollandaise tasted like the yellow stuff in the abdomen of a blue crab. However, the Drinks were good and service was good.
Jeri Tuttle
Jeri Tuttle
2017-02-19T16:55:19+0000
Fabulous! Freshest seafood, wonderful staff and just a cool spot to meet new people!
Jennifer Lemaster-Young
Jennifer Lemaster-Young
2017-02-18T23:58:50+0000
Excellent food and service! Loved it!!! Can't wait to go back again and again!
Kim Kerns
Kim Kerns
2017-02-16T11:01:14+0000
Excellent food!!! Even better service!!
Audrey Clifford
Audrey Clifford
2017-02-05T22:24:42+0000
William Whitmore
William Whitmore
2017-02-05T03:25:01+0000
Herb Pettway
Herb Pettway
2017-02-04T00:55:03+0000
Blue Seafood and Spirits was recently rated #29 in YELP'S TOP 100 Restaurants in The United States. There was only one other Restaurant from Virginia on the list. Congratulations! Well deserved.
Susan Hess Agoglia
Susan Hess Agoglia
2017-01-31T20:26:44+0000
If we could give this place 10 stars, we would. While visiting the Virginia Beach area we googled, nearby restaurants. Thankfully this was nearby. When we first saw it was a small restaurant we had a slight hesitation. I'm so glad we went on in. The Crab Cake and everything we had was off the chain delicious, and we have been to many, many seafood restaurants in our lifetime. The sweet potato biscuits with apricot butter is one of the best thing we have ever had. The owner will bring a sample of an appetizer that you didn't order to your table. We didn't have to ask for this or that, everything was taken care of perfectly. Well done Blue!
Dan Catlin
Dan Catlin
2017-01-28T00:33:20+0000
A hidden gem! Best seafood in VA Beach! Everything that came to our table was exceptional and the service was outstanding!
Wanda Troupe
Wanda Troupe
2017-01-26T02:33:23+0000
Our favorite spot - for special occasions or just grabbing a bite. Charles will spoil you. Once you've had his crab soup, tempura battered shrimp, crab cakes, etc. no one else's can hold a candle. Love it!
Jennifer Creed Tickle
Jennifer Creed Tickle
2017-01-23T00:49:15+0000
Absolutely wonderful food and service, we will be back!
Melissa Norwood
Melissa Norwood
2017-01-23T00:06:28+0000
Excellent service, amazing food, and a very attentive owner/chef. We enjoyed our first visit, and look forward to our next.
Carol Hernandez
Carol Hernandez
2017-01-21T16:11:18+0000
Eric Neri
Eric Neri
2017-01-19T00:36:02+0000
the crab cakes are stellar, the crab soup is the best locally. the rest is ok.
Valencia Thomas
Valencia Thomas
2017-01-16T16:38:47+0000
My boyfriend and I are new to Virginia so we have been trying several restaurants as we learn the area. I noticed Blue had a 5 star rating on yelp out of about 286 people. I considered that pretty promising so we gave it a try. First honest reaction is the place is pretty small but very clean and well decorated. It seems they have out grown their building and should perhaps find a larger establishment to match their popularity. Granted we were there on a Saturday night. There isn't enough room for more than 5 people to wait up front so we had to wait 30-45 minutes else where then come back, as did others. Again, I will say with the growing popularity I DO think they would benefit from some sort of reservation or call ahead system or a larger restaurant. Otherwise, they might miss out on a lot of customers that want BLUE for dinner but don't feel like waiting 45 minutes on a particular night. With that said once we were seated our waitress was extremely friendly and the wait for food didn't seem too long. While we waited the chef brought out a complimentary appetizer that was delicious! He also came back later to describe dessert options. THE FOOD WAS FANTASTIC! Fresh, perfectly seasoned. If I had to pick something to complain about it would be that the portions aren't very large compared to many restaurants. Even the sweet potato biscuits were delicious but tiny. So don't go there starving. All in all I can't give the place less than a 5 because it's clear they work very hard to put quality in their food as well as their service.
Deborah Taylor Williamson
Deborah Taylor Williamson
2017-01-13T03:52:52+0000
Morgan Nicole
Morgan Nicole
2016-12-22T15:52:34+0000
Brent Cowan
Brent Cowan
2016-12-06T23:38:38+0000
Shirley Feliciano
Shirley Feliciano
2016-12-03T00:53:33+0000
The best crab cakes and the attention was great. I loved the bread putting dessert..everything was very tasty.
April Malone
April Malone
2016-11-28T00:06:00+0000
Went here for date night with my fiancé and we were not disappointed! Service was excellent, food was amazing. The seafood here is very fresh and the creme brûlée is great! Will definitely go back again.
Syd Rust
Syd Rust
2016-11-21T00:30:39+0000
Everything you expect in a first class restaurant is here with the plus of having very personable staff. And, if you have a birthday dinner, you must ask to meet Hector the children.
Briana Beach
Briana Beach
2016-11-13T23:26:35+0000
Cathy Waggener Smith
Cathy Waggener Smith
2016-11-13T01:23:45+0000
Just amazing--everything! Best (?) part was getting to hang with Hector the Birthday Chicken...
Andy Burke
Andy Burke
2016-11-09T01:05:56+0000
Duncan Jones
Duncan Jones
2016-11-05T23:41:57+0000
Glen Caldwell
Glen Caldwell
2016-11-05T19:16:19+0000
We were disappointed when Burton's closed. On their last night a stranger at next table told us of Blue Seafood and Spirits. We had dinner last night and now have a new favorite restaurant. Cooking with �. Atmosphere of fun. One door closes and a better one opens.
Lu Ann Bernard
Lu Ann Bernard
2016-11-02T07:26:56+0000
Brandi Rose Prater
Brandi Rose Prater
2016-11-02T00:13:51+0000
Nancy Anderson Maloy
Nancy Anderson Maloy
2016-10-29T01:24:36+0000
Our favorite restaurant! Fantastic seafood! But even the pork chop is fabulous. Always great service. The owner is always there with a small bite before you order. The sweet potato biscuits are delicate and amazing. Best crab cake ever! And the best she crab soup we've found so far. It's a small place, so don't assume you'll get a table!
Loretta Craven-Morton
Loretta Craven-Morton
2016-10-21T01:59:13+0000
Very nice dining experience. The waitresses were so helpful, friendly and really knew the menu. The food was just fantastic!
Kent Morton
Kent Morton
2016-10-21T01:47:54+0000
Great food, helpful and very friendly Staff, highly recommend !!!!
Fiona Macdonald McCasland
Fiona Macdonald McCasland
2016-10-07T23:34:37+0000
Fabulous food great service best I've had in a long while, over the moon to find a great restaurant close to home
Jeremy Ayersman
Jeremy Ayersman
2016-10-06T19:51:53+0000
Atmosphere, food, service, and the overall feel are consistently far above par. Extremely welcoming staff and ownership. I'd recommend something to eat but, it's all awesome. Leave room for dessert.
Chris Chuck Cornett
Chris Chuck Cornett
2016-10-05T12:58:26+0000
We had dinner here and was greated by very friendly staff, not knowing he was the owner/ chef. We had a most amazing meal !! Everything was, well all I can say is you must experience it for yourself . We are from out of town and will return to Blue Seafood and Spirits every time for sure ! Excellent experience !!
Bailey Fett
Bailey Fett
2016-10-02T23:49:27+0000
First time coming here. There was a wait but rightfully so. The food was so fresh and very well cooked. Perfect portion size and the crab soup was awesome! The owner was very nice too and brought us appetizers personally/made sure everything was ok. Definitely recommend!
Denise Blevins Ward
Denise Blevins Ward
2016-10-01T23:23:56+0000
Chelsey DiFava
Chelsey DiFava
2016-09-30T22:22:22+0000
How could you not love this place. The food was absolutely amazing and was cooked to pefection. The chef/owner was so personable and made sure all of his customers were taken care of. Our server Jordan was awesome. The restaurant was very clean and all the employees worked together smoothly. The atmosphere was nice and relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. My drink, summer dream, was a tad strong and could have used a bit more pizzazz as far as aesthetics go, but still very good. And the place is small, and filled up quick but that's because the service is so amazing I am sure everyone in the area wanted to be there. If you are in the area of Virginia beach my husband and I recommend this wonderful restaurant. Worth every penny!
Ann Walls
Ann Walls
2016-09-30T16:26:57+0000
This is our favorite place to go for special occasions and for great seafood anytime. It's hard to decide. There are always specials that make you mouth water just hearing about them.
Iris Sampson Zahratka
Iris Sampson Zahratka
2016-09-26T00:45:34+0000
The best seafood in town! Charles is so creative and prepares the most awesome specials. His wife, Shannon, makes the most amazing desserts! The staff is fun, but professional. We go to lots of restaurants, but Blue is tops. Highly recommend!
Debi Kierych
Debi Kierych
2016-09-25T00:08:10+0000
From our drinks to our desserts everything was amazing. Wait staff are there with a smile and wonderful suggestions. A perfect dinner out.
Brenda Carson Tumlin
Brenda Carson Tumlin
2016-09-22T00:29:50+0000
Krista Wigginton Beighle
Krista Wigginton Beighle
2016-09-21T03:33:43+0000
Loved the atmosphere and the food was delectable! Our waitress, Jen, took very good care of us! Met the owner/chef who knows what he's doing! Keep up the great work!!
Lee LaFleur
Lee LaFleur
2016-09-19T01:01:11+0000
Excellent service, Reed is one of the best servers I have ever had. The wait was a bit long but we did arrive at 7:45 on a Friday night. A reservation or call ahead system is desperately needed. The food was very good and a good value but it wasn't a 5 star. I was served a warm beer, the chilled glass helped a little. There are a few top notch restaurants in the area a n Blue is close but still a small notch below. All in all an enjoyable evening.
Beth Ashley
Beth Ashley
2016-09-18T21:50:46+0000
Jane Stuben Williams
Jane Stuben Williams
2016-09-18T03:06:51+0000
We've been here for 3 days and ate at some marginal places but this my friends will knock your socks off! Waitstaff was amazing, chef came to table to thank us and the food was plated & presentation was in point. Simply amazing food.
Mindy Cahill
Mindy Cahill
2016-09-18T02:16:28+0000
This was our first time here. It was delicious and I can't say enough about the customer service. Thank you for giving my husband a t-shirt after he spilled his drink all over his shirt (and the you didn't even charge for the drink). W also appreciated the free appetizer. Everyone love their meals. Sarah is a great waitress.
Michele Leigh
Michele Leigh
2016-09-16T00:16:26+0000
Loved the food and atmosphere! Will definitely be going back! Thanks Shannon for a great meal!
Bart Holloman
Bart Holloman
2016-09-10T21:38:47+0000
Superb dining and cocktails. Personal meet with the Chef too! A gem of a restaurant!
Rosie Subialdea
Rosie Subialdea
2016-09-09T01:07:24+0000
Kelley Lovette
Kelley Lovette
2016-09-03T23:54:10+0000
We trusted the reviews, and they did not disappoint. We loved the atmosphere, presonalized, friendly, and efficient service, and amazing food.
Karin Bisbee
Karin Bisbee
2016-08-31T22:57:02+0000
Amazing food, outstanding personalized attention, great atmosphere. A must visit!!
Gina Hertzenberg
Gina Hertzenberg
2016-08-26T01:14:04+0000
Our favorite place in Sandbridge! Love Chef Charles & the gang! Delicious specials, drinks & regular menu items! A real beach treasure!
Scott Liddell
Scott Liddell
2016-08-14T00:13:04+0000
Tony K Alexander
Tony K Alexander
2016-08-11T22:07:06+0000
Thanks for a great meal!!! Only one short coming espresso needed.....but the fresh dark coffee made up for it..
Tina Moore
Tina Moore
2016-08-04T02:19:53+0000
Jackie McIntosh
Jackie McIntosh
2016-08-03T00:45:45+0000
Absolutely amazing. Thank you for making my 40th birthday dinner perfection.
Matthew Bullen
Matthew Bullen
2016-07-29T22:15:00+0000
James Woodrum
James Woodrum
2016-07-16T23:03:07+0000
Best meal I've had in a long time. We will be back!
Lindsay Rae
Lindsay Rae
2016-07-13T23:14:06+0000
Delicious food! Fabulous service! One of the best seafood restaurants I've been too.
Omid Shabestari
Omid Shabestari
2016-07-09T22:12:32+0000
Ron Wagner
Ron Wagner
2016-07-07T15:08:09+0000
First time in here, sat at the bar with Matt as our Bartender. Service and food was outstanding! Will def be back!
Beau Dudiez
Beau Dudiez
2016-07-01T23:19:42+0000
These reviews are on point! From appetizers to dessert absolutely delicious. Reed was the best server. Combined I cannot thank you all enough.....thank you for making my night.
Ashley Ross
Ashley Ross
2016-06-23T02:09:09+0000
Amazing experience from start to finish. We dined at the bar and had superb service. Everyone of our four courses was timed perfectly and tasted even better than they were presented. Looking forward to our next time in!
Cherie Cruanes Bock
Cherie Cruanes Bock
2016-06-11T21:32:27+0000
Jennifer Butler George
Jennifer Butler George
2016-06-10T13:05:58+0000
The best money I've spent on food and drinks in a longtime!! The food was outstanding, the Beach martini was to die for and the deserts were delicious. My son is following a Gluten free diet and there were many selections available for him. Great drinks, food and service! A must try!! I will be back
Shereena Anderson
Shereena Anderson
2016-06-10T12:23:29+0000
Chelsea Leigh
Chelsea Leigh
2016-05-15T02:05:13+0000
As an out of town person looking for an amazing place to eat fresh seafood. This was it! Katie our server was amazing and all of the food was melt in your mouth. Highly recommended.
Diane White Leive
Diane White Leive
2016-05-07T23:28:12+0000
Fantastic meal will definitely be back! Best Crabcakes in the area!
Sally Holloman
Sally Holloman
2016-05-07T01:01:13+0000
Waited for a table for thirty minutes and it was worth the wait. Delicious crab cake, oysters, and flounderstuffed with crabmeat. The baked white sweet potato was like eating dessert. A great neighborhood restaurant. Wonderful service. The owner stops by every table to ask about your meal. We will definitely dine there again.
Cat Lett Walker
Cat Lett Walker
2016-05-01T00:03:15+0000
Great place! It's nice to find a kid friendly place with great adult food and service. The head chef even came out with a bowl of toys for my four year old to pick from! She became instantly smitten with him because of the attention! My mom had some of the best oysters ever, and my swordfish was perfect--and the mashed potatoes were to die for! We'll be back for sure!**We came back again now in November and it was just as fantastic! My now 5 year old couldn't wait to pick her knick-knacks from the bowl; my husband who "doesn't like seafood" said everything was wonderful; and the service was great! The owner even followed us into the parking lot when my daughter left her toys at the table. It is especially lovely to have a place that welcomes kids and still provides stellar food!**
Josh Kelly
Josh Kelly
2016-04-30T12:26:49+0000
Excellent service and experience. I would recommend this to anyone in the area looking for great seafood.
Kristin Aranda George
Kristin Aranda George
2016-04-12T21:53:16+0000
Kristy King Kotlyn
Kristy King Kotlyn
2016-04-09T04:01:50+0000
Tiffany Murray
Tiffany Murray
2016-04-09T02:11:01+0000
Delicious seafood and awesome service. Worth a trip for sure! Get the oysters!
Jared Lane
Jared Lane
2016-03-30T00:46:41+0000
My family and I chose this restaurant tonight based on trip advisor. The service and quality of food was impeccable. I've never eaten better seafood anywhere in all my life. The staff was incredibly attentive and pleasant. We will definitely eat here next time we visit Virginia Beach.
Theresa Perez
Theresa Perez
2016-03-28T13:37:08+0000
Tasha Valentine Brashears
Tasha Valentine Brashears
2016-02-05T02:53:37+0000
Great service that started with the call to verify operations hours for the evening! The food was AMAZING! The atmosphere was also very nice! Great birthday dinner for me which included a special appearance from Hector, the birthday chicken!!!
Victoria Lorain Kinney
Victoria Lorain Kinney
2016-01-17T01:25:26+0000
Best seafood I've ever had. Visiting from Myrtle Beach, SC. Thank you for the outstanding food and amazing birthday dinner!
Karen Sabol Thornton
Karen Sabol Thornton
2016-01-15T00:41:55+0000
The food was absolutely amazing and the staff was awesome! My boys actually ate their veggies and loved them! Everything we had was delicious! Will definitely be back again!
Lisa Merritt Wagenbrenner
Lisa Merritt Wagenbrenner
2016-01-01T13:19:30+0000
I had a wonderful New Year's Eve Birthday dinner! We sat at the bar and Derrick was an awesome bartender! Oyster Rockefeller great nice large oysters. I chose the flounder special with lightly fried scallops all cooked perfect! Chocolate bread pudding for dessert to die for! We will be back real soon!
Christina Ramos-Echevarria
Christina Ramos-Echevarria
2015-12-27T01:21:46+0000
The food was amazing and our server Lysette was great
Fran Dalton
Fran Dalton
2015-12-16T02:28:52+0000
Great place n great food ... The employees r awesome
Amy Howerton Selby
Amy Howerton Selby
2015-11-18T22:28:33+0000
Great restaurant. Atmosphere is beautiful. Food is divine. And service is spectacular. Thanks for a great experience.
Michael Forrest
Michael Forrest
2015-11-08T13:21:24+0000
Nikki Lewis
Nikki Lewis
2015-10-29T02:08:25+0000
Everything was delicious! The Crab salad crustini sample, salads, crab cake, barrelfish, chicken, scallops, side veggies, creme brulee, key lime pie, and chocolate bread pudding!!!! Everything was amazing!! Thank you!
January Beth Pulliam
January Beth Pulliam
2015-10-21T01:15:30+0000
We just happened to see this place when we googled best seafood in Va beach. Best food we've had in a while. Loved it so much we planned a birthday trip back to the beach just to eat there!!
Amber Medlin Keever
Amber Medlin Keever
2015-10-10T22:42:19+0000
Melissa White
Melissa White
2015-10-10T21:53:25+0000
Miranda Jo Lewis
Miranda Jo Lewis
2015-10-09T01:22:21+0000
Cindy Bogdan
Cindy Bogdan
2015-10-08T23:57:48+0000
Excellent meal, fresh seafood, friendly staff, and absolutely to die for crime brûlée!
Bonnie Ann
Bonnie Ann
2015-10-06T00:38:35+0000
Melissa Brumbelow
Melissa Brumbelow
2015-09-28T00:35:45+0000
On vacation in VA Beach, and a Google search of 'voted best' led us to Blue! Blown away at the atmosphere, friendly staff, and incredible food! Tasted the Crab salad and best ever Calamari, Grilled Mahi entrees, fabulous veggies, the SWEET POTATO BISCUITS, and house special Chocolate Bread Pudding!!! Found our favorite local restaurant and will be back next trip!
Rocco DeCanio
Rocco DeCanio
2015-09-27T13:47:27+0000
This place is amazing. If you like fresh seafood and a cool atmosphere go check it out! The Chef is great and I noticed him making his rounds to all the tables to make sure customers are enjoying their experience. You don't receive that type of service at many places around here, go check it out I promise you will not be disappointed. A+ service from the entire BLUE crew.
Kimberly Avelsgard Kurtz
Kimberly Avelsgard Kurtz
2015-09-19T01:45:07+0000
Great food, great service! Will definitely come back whenever we are in VA Beach!
Sarah Dennis Clere
Sarah Dennis Clere
2015-09-11T01:26:51+0000
The food was absolutely great. We will definitely come back.
Ashley Leonard
Ashley Leonard
2015-09-10T22:05:58+0000
Fantastic service!!! Great food and service. Even got to meet Hector the birthday chicken! Will be back!
Josh O'Connor
Josh O'Connor
2015-08-29T04:12:18+0000
Great service, great atmosphere! The owner is a great guy, humble and friendly. Price is great for the quality of food. highly recommend
Peter Ruchti
Peter Ruchti
2015-08-29T03:01:27+0000
Ridiculously good. Fantastic food, excellent service, many surprises and humble owners. Love this place!
Deborah Hill
Deborah Hill
2015-08-19T23:29:19+0000
The best seafood ever every chance I get I'm on my way there
Hiro Rinzler
Hiro Rinzler
2015-08-15T12:55:52+0000
Bob Gregory
Bob Gregory
2015-08-15T11:56:29+0000
My fiancee and I dined at Blue last night for the first time.... Tanya was our super attentive server. For a Friday night, we only waited about fifteen minutes, but it was WELL WORTH the wait once inside. I had the "Eastern Shore" dinner which consisted of lightly battered fried oysters and a "melt in your mouth" crab cake and baked sweet potato. My fiancée had the salmon with regular mashed potato. We both had the vegetable of the evening, which was a steamed medley. Tanya recommended the hibiscus martini which was also amazing. After dinner we split the most awesome slice of key lime pie.... Might I add that seeing one of the chef/owners going table to table and greeting everyone was a nice touch. As you were reading the menu he dropped off a small plate containing two crackers with smoked shark spread....All in all an amazing night.... We'll be back!!
Chris Link
Chris Link
2015-08-07T02:36:58+0000
Amanda Czahor Link
Amanda Czahor Link
2015-08-07T00:54:16+0000
Kacie Shields Daniels
Kacie Shields Daniels
2015-08-06T01:38:56+0000
Was not just a perfect meal it was the perfect dining experience! I can't ramble on enough! Best place I've ever visited! Customer service was TOP NOTCH! Food was BEYOND incredible!
Michael Reilly
Michael Reilly
2015-07-18T13:42:52+0000
William Rayfield Feggans
William Rayfield Feggans
2015-07-18T02:02:15+0000
Just putting this out there Guy you need to come here now best seafood i ever had and i have been around the World and back 5 star all the way 2 Thumbs up!!!!
Mandy Banks
Mandy Banks
2015-07-15T01:16:52+0000
Great spot. It was our first time and we were not disappointed with anything and loved the atmosphere. Our meals were fabulous and the service was wonderful. We will definitely be back there!
Frank Smith
Frank Smith
2015-07-07T20:24:43+0000
Nona P. King
Nona P. King
2015-07-04T17:48:40+0000
I'm giving Blue SIX stars out of five. The food, service, staff were EXCELLENT! My friend & I dined there two nights in a row while in Virginia Beach! Kudos and much success to Charles, the chef and owner. Our bartender and server, Derrick was charming, personable and kept us in the Malbec This place is a must for a great seafood dining experience.
Nancy Holmes
Nancy Holmes
2015-06-21T01:38:00+0000
By far the very best crab cakes & key lime pie! Don't wait, grab a seat at the bar. Terrific atmosphere & outstanding wait staff! Line to be seated, out the door.
Amber Decker
Amber Decker
2015-06-14T19:08:28+0000
Diana Crowley Glasier
Diana Crowley Glasier
2015-05-09T00:14:42+0000
Oh my gosh...... best meal we've had in a really long time. Seafood is incredible. Service is top notch..... definitely coming back.
Linda Ramsey Hardesty
Linda Ramsey Hardesty
2015-04-30T22:04:52+0000
Excellent food and service! Shrimp and broiled flounder! Delicious!!!
Tiffany Hobbs
Tiffany Hobbs
2015-04-28T23:43:06+0000
Amazing that's all I can say you have to try it!!!
Next Reviews
Andrea Leonard
Andrea Leonard
22:18 28 Sep 17
Wonderful food and atmosphere. Everyone that works there are friendly and smiling. Will definitely eat here again!
Rose Miller
Rose Miller
23:40 27 Sep 17
Food and service was awesome! Everyone was friendly and the meals were all very yummy. Plan to go back every time we are in town.
Tommy Townsend
Tommy Townsend
00:20 23 Sep 17
Best oysters that I've ever eaten. Great service reasonably price. Wife had fresh catch of the day it was delicious. Desert was fine. See why it is one of the area's best
Jay Wolcott
Jay Wolcott
17:20 15 Aug 17
Great little restaurant. The food is excellent. Would be nicer in a larger establishment. I'm not a fan that it still looks like a bar, but it doesn't prevent me from enjoying the food and staff.
Emilee Harker
Emilee Harker
01:12 01 Jul 17
Fantastic experience! Couldn't have been better! They treated us like family from the moment we walked in. We had kids with us and they went out of their way to make sure they had a great experience too! Fantastic food, excellent service! We will be back!!!!
See All Reviews

5.0
Based on 356 Reviews
Steve G.
Steve G.
2018-01-27 16:11:20
We were at the door at 4 pm and we're very glad to be early. Place was filled up by 5 on a Saturday night with a line out the door! Went for combo plate of...
Mark E.
Mark E.
2017-11-12 14:29:12
Our first visit. Spot on service and cuisine.This is an independent restaurant serving up some very tasty dishes. And it must be a known favorite...
Creagan B.
Creagan B.
2017-09-30 05:34:09
All I can say is WOW!!This is by far the best seafood restaurant in VB!Whether it's oyster rock or the nightly specials they offer. Everything is amazing...
Maria G.
Maria G.
2017-09-29 19:06:35
After dining here many times, I can truly say this is a top notch restaurant. The atmosphere is really chilled and I love the bar's light pendant. Speaking...
Julia B.
Julia B.
2017-09-27 12:36:10
We had an amazing dinner here!! We went to Blue Seafood and Spirits and had excellent service and food to match!! Our server was fantastic and very...
Blue Seafood and Spirits
4.9
powered by Facebook
Jeff Dorsogna
Jeff Dorsogna
2018-04-15T23:06:48+0000
This is the best seafood in the freshest seafood I’ve had in a long time. Very personable customer service issues the owner has a great thing going and I will not have seafood anywhere else
Stuart Brightbill
Stuart Brightbill
2018-04-14T23:36:14+0000
The food for all three of us was excellent!! Waitress was very knowledgeable, courteous and professional. All three meals were cooked perfectly and served on time. The only thing keeping from a 5-star rating is the atmosphere. Incredibly small dining area and we happened to be seated close to the bar. The people gathered behind us were loud (having fun), I kept having to hunch over as patrons and workers had to get by. I hope this restaurant can find a bigger place.
Mark Anthony
Mark Anthony
2018-04-12T00:09:37+0000
Great service great food what more can you ask for
Stephanie Mackey
Stephanie Mackey
2018-04-08T13:47:06+0000
Wonderful birthday dinner at our favorite restaurant! Thank you, Blue!
Kenneth L Williams
Kenneth L Williams
2018-04-07T23:44:25+0000
James Darden
James Darden
2018-04-07T20:32:03+0000
Great place! Our second time & we Love it, sooo fresh.
Meredith Dhillon
Meredith Dhillon
2018-03-17T14:50:23+0000
Me and my husband love seafood! We wanted to find a legit restaurant outside of the tourist traps. Blue is fantastic! The food was fresh and seasoned to perfection. Unique items like the apricot butter will keep me coming back. The service was exceptional and the staff was friendly! The beer and wine selection mafe us super happy!
Sandy Ricardo
Sandy Ricardo
2018-03-15T10:26:23+0000
John Ross
John Ross
2018-03-08T23:05:20+0000
Just had another great meal at Blue.Once again everything was wonderful!�����
Mendy Semonich
Mendy Semonich
2018-02-28T22:48:05+0000
The owner and staff were very nice. It’s a great atmosphere and very clean. The food is awesome! Love this place, I will go back often!
Pam Ooten-Stuart
Pam Ooten-Stuart
2018-02-25T01:36:18+0000
Excellent service, delicious food and wonderful atmosphere. Highly recommend!
Cindy Meigel
Cindy Meigel
2018-02-24T00:49:31+0000
We tried this restaurant...thanks to Suri. When we walked in, I asked the couple on front of us “have you been here before?” She replied “no we saw it had 5 star reviews, so we thought we would try it.” How about that! LOL. My father said the “raw oysters and the she crab soup were the BEST” he ever had! He’s long been a Seafood connoisseur. Sorrily I’m not a fan of seafood, however the salad dressing was the best I ever had! It was a house made italian-garlic-balsamic, and the salad was full of fixings. They also have complimentary sweet potato biscuits with apricot butter, that are to absolutely die for! I ordered the porterhouse pork chop, with cheesy mashed potatoes and vegetables. The cheesy mashed potatoes were a culinary delight, for sure! My father got the broiled seafood plate that consisted of scallops, a large crab cake, and a white fish. In his words “they are generous with the crab in the crab cake, and in the She crab soup.” His dinner was served with a white sweet potato and vegetables. For desert we both opted for the cream brûlée - which was absolutely to die for. I have had cream brûlée twice before and really did not care for it, but since we were trying this place for the first time, I decided to try it. It was masterful!!! They have a chocolate bread pudding, that the owner highly recommended, however, I gave up chocolate for Lent. I liked that the owner brought out complimentary appetizers, and talked freely with the customers. Our only complaint would be, it’s too small...but the owner stated “we thought about expanding, but we don’t want to lose...what we have here.” We got there when it opened at 4. By the time we left, the waiting area was full, and people were waiting in line outside...in the rain. The bar area is a delight, and and the bartender was superb! Highly recommend 5�����. I will be trying the chocolate bread pudding after lent ends. What an absolute pleasure!
Margaret Nowaczyk Gaertner
Margaret Nowaczyk Gaertner
2018-02-21T23:09:30+0000
This was our first visit to Blue, but most certainly won’t be our last. The food and service were excellent, with a visit from the Chef who offered us a complimentary crab appetizer. The sweet potatoe biscuits are the best we have ever eaten. Can’t wait to go back.
Marcia Melquist
Marcia Melquist
2018-02-19T01:14:44+0000
Kristie McLamb
Kristie McLamb
2018-02-18T00:07:39+0000
Wonderful and friendly service....Appetizers which included tempura asparagus and a bowl of crab soup and both was out of this world...had the salmon Oscar and fried seafood plate and both were amazing....would recommend to anybody and can’t wait to come back again
Lauren Merlino Shoemaker
Lauren Merlino Shoemaker
2018-02-17T12:26:30+0000
Came here on a recommendation n was not disappointed. We sat at the bar n Matt took care of us!! Started out with the calamari app. I then had the crab cakes, my husband had some seafood dish n said it was great!! The chef brought out our food (which I thought was very nice) I had never heard of a white sweet potato before, but let me tell you, it was delish!! We ended with creme brûlée. Matt was very entertaining n personable. We def enjoyed our night. Thank you! I almost forgot about the sweet potato biscuits, with the apricot butter—-OMG
Jose Gautier
Jose Gautier
2018-02-16T09:59:43+0000
Elaina Marie Rogers
Elaina Marie Rogers
2018-02-16T00:47:30+0000
Shelly Sowers
Shelly Sowers
2018-02-15T16:23:08+0000
Tonya Hignite Rakowski
Tonya Hignite Rakowski
2018-02-09T18:21:22+0000
LaShon Williams
LaShon Williams
2018-02-04T11:20:33+0000
Matthew Smithson
Matthew Smithson
2018-02-02T18:24:37+0000
This is my favorite restaurant in Virginia Beach hands down. The fresh delicious food, friendly service, and speciality🍸cocktails are always AMAZING. And unlike many restaurants, the owners of BLUE 🐟 come out to greet you 👏. The atmosphere here makes for a truly unique and enjoyable dining experience.
Maggie Infinger
Maggie Infinger
2018-01-28T17:59:51+0000
Amazing food, best service I have had in awhile. My new favorite restaurant. Even with a long wait I would do it again!!
Don Podach
Don Podach
2018-01-28T01:56:14+0000
Brady Behrman
Brady Behrman
2018-01-27T23:25:52+0000
Wow! Amazing food, incredibly tasteful. You got to get here!
Michelle Thorbin Marshall
Michelle Thorbin Marshall
2018-01-27T02:51:39+0000
Jimi Casper
Jimi Casper
2018-01-25T03:46:38+0000
We've eaten here 2 dozen times and every time it was an amazing experience. Chef Charles and crew do an absolute stellar job at making you feel like family and having the ultimate dining experience. I would not change anything about this place. Love it 6 stars!!!
Anna Cleveland
Anna Cleveland
2018-01-21T01:04:45+0000
Great staff and amazing food! Well worth any wait you may have. I can't wait to go back. There are many menu items I want to try.
Scott Bowyer
Scott Bowyer
2018-01-20T01:20:21+0000
Tonight’s special was a yellowfin tuna with a honey Dijon drizzle, along with Asiago mashed potatoes and julienned vegetables. It was cooked to perfection! Received great service with a smile, and enjoyed seeing chef out talking to everyone. Highly recommend!!!
Adriane McKoy
Adriane McKoy
2017-12-21T02:31:27+0000
Delicious fresh seafood, nice atmosphere and great staff!
Cindy Kepley McCall
Cindy Kepley McCall
2017-12-17T18:29:44+0000
Jodie Cartwright Brinn
Jodie Cartwright Brinn
2017-11-25T23:57:33+0000
Great Food, Great Service!! One of my favorites in Virginia Beach!!!
Adam Carroll
Adam Carroll
2017-11-18T23:24:42+0000
Charles, you’ve ruined me for duck...I use to order it everywhere, but nothing is as good as yours. Filet tonight....
Lauren Broudy
Lauren Broudy
2017-11-09T03:11:22+0000
My food was definitely 5 stars. I couldn't pick just one so I chose the combo and got flounder, crab cakes and shrimp. I would get it again and again. I loved how they offer complimentary appetizers. They were the perfect bite!!
Tish Woodlin Norfleet
Tish Woodlin Norfleet
2017-11-06T02:11:05+0000
The food, service and atmosphere was on point. I will be back.
Lynn Lester
Lynn Lester
2017-11-06T00:47:26+0000
So glad that we found this locally-owned restaurant. Food and service were both excellent, and really liked that the Chef was in and out of the dining room chatting it up with customers. He obviously has a large local following, and as a restaurant owner in Delaware, I love to find and support locally-owned businesses. Those in the Virginia Beach area need to put this great spot on their radar!!!
Frank Jacobs
Frank Jacobs
2017-11-04T09:42:29+0000